Most Popular

Most Viewed

Sweden Bans Travellers from Albania, Azerbaijan, Japan, Brunei, Serbia and Armenia

A report by says that the Ministry of Justice in Sweden has taken the decision to issue an entry ban on six European countries, which will come into effect on Monday, September 20, 2021. 

The banned countries are Albania, Azerbaijan, Japan, Brunei, Serbia and Armenia.

The decision spurs from a background that deems the banned countries epidemiologically unsafe for travel due to COVID-19. However, there are some exceptions. Travellers from banned countries to Sweden can enter if their reasons are ‘necessary’, and only if they hold a Swedish residence permit. 

According to the website, workers in the healthcare sector, those who transit through Swedish territory, workers with essential duties, healthcare researchers and elderly staff have a pass. On the long run, vaccinated persons entering Sweden may also be granted an exemption from the ban. 

The entry ban on travellers without an essential ‘purpose’ have been in effect in Sweden since March 2020, and has stretched onto 2021.